The Brits are doing it again *sigh*

I could understand no one attending Daisy’s 70th birthday due to the volcano ash and Prince Philip at 88 not being the firmest traveller the royal family has on offer. They couldn’t have sent anyone else who might have gotten there by train (albeit too late) because it would have seemed disrespectful not to send the birthday girl’s closest relation.

Granted.

What I cannot understand is sending the Earl and Countess of Wessex (Prince Edward and Sophie, née Rhys-Jones) to the wedding of the future Queen of Sweden. I get not forcing the Princes William and Harry to attend as they’ll be in South Africa and while it would have been nice of them to come, as they’re close in age to the hosts, they’re still not quite important enough to warrant that. But Queen Elizabeth II not sending the heir to the British throne to the heiress of the Swedish one is pretty scandalous. Especially as Prince Charles has attended royal weddings of heirs to crowns in previous years.

This is not a good move. The British royal family has alienated itself from their continental cousins for a while already, as was summarized here a little while ago already, which I found rather interesting. I don’t think it’s a good idea, as much as I can understand the underlying motives, to a fault, but at some point, this will come and bite them in the arse. And I don’t mean the Swedes and Danes sending Princess Madeleine and Prince Joachim to Charles’ crowning ceremony in a couple of years.

The Earl and Countess of Wessex have been doing their job at representing the royal family at events in the past years well enough, I won’t criticize them for that at all. And Sophie at least has been gusting in Sweden in previous years, I have a picture somewhere (at least I think I saved it, will add when I actually do find it) which shows her, when she wasn’t yet married to Edward, together with the Swedish royal family and Prince Nikolaos of Greece and Denmark. I’m still not convinced they should be the sole representatives of the Windsors.

This leaves a rather bad aftertaste with me.

